Thunderbolt Fantasy – Sword Seekers – Side Story: Episode of Xíng Hài – Chapter 14

Fourteen

Dawn came.

The fire, which had been burning so brightly eventually began to extinguish and was now continuing to smoke black. From a small village at the foot of the mountain, one pretty figure holding an umbrella looked up with an anxious expression. It was the landowner’s daughter whose fiancé was taken.

“Lĭ Qīng …” she muttered sadly.

Her tear-stained eyes fell on a blue-clad man who was trudging down the mountain path. He was the silver-haired nobleman she had previously met at a small shrine in the mountains. He walked in her direction and as he passed by he whispered, “your fiancé will be back shortly.”

“Huh?”

When the girl turned to him, the man had already walked a distance past her. Just then, a light shone through the clouds. The man looked up to the dazzling sky, scrutinizing it with his narrow eyes.

“Hey, it finally stopped raining. Is the season going to change …?” he said.

The rising morning sun continued to shine on him as he left. The cloudy sky opened up quickly, showing glimpses of the azure sky. A fresh wind blew. There was a definite smell of autumn in the wind.

***

<- Chapters ->

Finally finished! I hope you enjoyed it. This wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be and the second story includes a lot of fighting… But I’ll do my best 🙂

Personal rant: After reading and translating this story I need to say that, although I’m happy to read more about the characters, I think the author uses some outdated motifs and tropes. This is just my opinion but think about it:
1. Luán Niángzĭ as an old women is described with very offensive words. Sure the author wants the reader to feel disgust toward her but if old people in stories are described more often like this, I think it’ll throw a bad light onto actual sweet old people.
2. The only person who is ugly and disfigured is evil.
3. The only person who is canonically bisexual (Lán Gānbăo) is a killer and connected to  pedophilia.
I am still happy that I could read this story but I also won’t look up the authors other works.

Now onto Shā Wúshēng’s story …

6 thoughts on “Thunderbolt Fantasy – Sword Seekers – Side Story: Episode of Xíng Hài – Chapter 14

  1. Thank you for translating!!! About your thoughts, within this novel I could give the bisexual and disfigured being evil trope a pass since everyone around them is the same, but not if I take into consideration the whole franchise with it’s multiple characters.
    That aside, my fears for side stories written by different authors is they can feel like out of character fics depending on how they are done, I didn’t feel that way while reading this, I hope it gets adapted a movie as well.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment. Actually I don’t read many side stories, so thank you for sharing your experience too . I’m also in for any additional content of the TBF franchise and it would be interesting to see how they would adapt this story.

      Like

  2. Thank you so much for translating this story. I am so glad to finally be able to read it. I think the outdated tropes fit the setting. I don’t think Lán Gānbăo bisexuality is as much about sexuality as it is his degeneracy. But, I can see why it might be a hurtful depiction. On the other hand, the best characters in Thunderbolt Fantasy, are the villains! They are all killers xD
    Thank you again for your effort!

    Like

    1. Yes! The villains are all great characters. Thunderbolt Fantasy wouldn’t be what it is, without them. And they just announced that the script for the next season/movie ist already done!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started